Skip to content ↓


The Curriculum in Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8 and 9) 

Students in Years 7, 8 and 9 follow a broad curriculum which includes all the following subjects:
Art, English, Expressive Arts (Drama & Music), Geography, History, ICT, Mathematics, Modern Foreign Languages (French and Spanish), Physical Education (PE), PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education), Religion, Science  and Technology.

Most subjects group students into sets to reflect their ability, so that appropriate work can be set for each individual. There is a regular and frequent review of each student’s set and where teachers feel that a change (in set) would benefit a student, parents/carers will be informed.

In Year 7 subjects are divided into 4 separate blocks, where English and Mathematics determine the setting in their blocks. PE and Technology are mixed ability classes.

  1. Humanities (Art, Drama, English, French, Geography, History, Music, Religion, PSHE and Spanish)
  2. Mathematics, Science and ICT
  3. Physical Education
  4. Technology

In Years 8 and 9, subjects are divided into 7 separate blocks, where English and Mathematics determine the setting in their blocks.  Science and MFL determine the setting structure for each half year group in their own subject.  Subjects within the Arts block, PE and Technology are mixed ability classes.

  1. Humanities  (English, Geography, History and Religion)
  2. Arts  (Art, Drama, Music and PSHE)
  3. Maths and ICT
  4. Modern foreign languages
  5. Science
  6. Physical Education
  7. Technology

Since September 2015 National Curriculum Levels are no longer used for statutory assessments and have been replaced with KS2 scaled scores.  This has had significant implications for assessment systems used both in primary and secondary schools.

From September 2016 The Pingle Academy will assess students in Key Stage 3 without the use of National Curriculum Levels which will reflect these changes and will be replaced with ‘thresholds’ which allow students to study in more depth and ensure mastery of knowledge and skills.

Each subject has also produced a progression model which details the specific criteria needed to have been achieved to be making expected progress in each threshold.

Please click on the subject button below to see details of all the specific assessment tasks which students will be expected to complete in each of the three assessment periods.

Further details of thresholds and the new assessment system can be found in the ‘Understanding your Child’s Progress Reports and Assessments’ booklet which will be sent out with the first progress reports. 

During Year 9, the Academy helps students to make the best possible choice of subjects. This is done in conjunction with parents/carers, careers staff and teachers, taking into account the need for breadth and balance. Vocational courses are also offered in a some subjects.

Other subjects are offered within the existing option system and, in the interests of a broad education, students are expected to continue to study humanities and creative subjects.

The Curriculum in Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11) 

Within the national curriculum, students continue to study a broad range of subjects to the end of Year 11.  Students are required to study the core subjects of English, Mathematics, Science, Philosophy and Ethics, PE and PSHE.

  • GCSE qualifications are taught in English and English literature, Mathematics and Science, where we offer single or double award GCSE qualification and triple Science, which includes Biology, Chemistry and Physics.
  • Students also follow a GCSE short course in Philosophy and Ethics, core PE and PSHE.
  • ICT (computing) is taught in a cross curricular way with all required topics mapped across the full range of subjects.

The opportunity exists for students to gain a maximum of 10 GCSE qualifications in up to 8 different subject areas. Entry level courses are offered to students who gain more from a practical approach. Some students follow a one-day course at Burton College to extend their experience of work-related learning, achieving a range of level 1 and 2 qualifications.

If you require any further information regarding the curriculum offer, please contact Mr S Hall, Vice Principal.

The Sixth Form 

The Pingle Academy offers a wide range of courses for students who continue their education beyond the age of 16.

Large numbers of Sixth Form leavers gain places at universities each year. Others enter employment or work-based training in a range of occupational areas.  Further details are available in our separate Sixth Form tab.